nomadfarms.blogg.se

Connecting to cisco 2950 switch putty
Connecting to cisco 2950 switch putty








connecting to cisco 2950 switch putty

Usually, the Cisco device comes with a RJ45(serial)-to-DB9 console cable (light blue, flat ribbon cable, not twisted pair), and you would use an USB-to-DB9 RS232 converter at the computer end, as DB9 serial ports have become rare on computers. The switch's console port is RJ-45 and so is my PC's Ethernet adapter. You could use PUTTY from a windows box to access the 2950 via SSH on port 22, or you could telnet in if VTY is configured. The console port on Cisco devices might have RJ45 (8p8c) form factor, but it is not Ethernet, but RS-232 serial. But when my putty client (I'm running Windows 7), with serial COM1 settings tries to connect to the switch's IP, I just get a blank Putty terminal. So it looks like a console connection is required to set the login and password. That is, PC0 is connected on port fa0/1 and PC1 is connected on fa0/6. Here in figure we can see that CISCO 2950 switch is connected with two PCs on different ports.

#Connecting to cisco 2950 switch putty how to#

I tried telnet through Linux to the switch but still get the "Password required, but none set" message from IOS. Switch How to Connect to a Cisco Switch Using Putty 22. I had an RJ-45 Ethernet cable connecting a switch port directly to my PC network interface, with the intention to telnet to the switch, but apparently the switch refuses the telnet connections if no password is set.

connecting to cisco 2950 switch putty

The switch is on the same LAN has my host PC, and pings are successful. Connect your PC to your Cisco Router or Switch using the blue Cisco. NOTE: Resetting your router to its default factory settings will also reset your router’s password. I had an RJ-45 Ethernet cable connecting a switch port directly to my PC network interface, with the intention to telnet to the switch. How to log into a cisco 2950 switch serial Execute putty and connect to your Cisco Router or Switch using Serial COM1 or your respective COM port at the speed of 9600bps.

connecting to cisco 2950 switch putty

It is on with green lights, and frames successfully go in and out the ports. It is on with green lights, and frames successfully go in and out the ports. I am connecting a brand-new Catalyst 2950 switch to my LAN. I am connecting a brand-new Catalyst 2950 switch to my LAN.










Connecting to cisco 2950 switch putty